Marco Haller wins stage 4 to Kristiansand!

Photo: Szymon Gruchalski

Marco Haller wins stage 4 to Kristiansand!

Marco Haller (BORA - Hansgrohe) was the strongest in the bunch sprint in Kristansand and took his first victory since Tour des Fjords 2015

Hovden was the start city of the longest stage at this year's Tour of Norway.

Shortly after the start, a breakaway consisting of 5 riders was established. The riders Frederik Muff (Team ColoQuick), André Drege (Team Coop), Lucas Eriksson (Riwal Cycling), Kamiel Bonneu (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise) and Joel Nicolau (Caja Rural Seguros RGA) got a gap on 1'30'' after only 7 kilometers. Bora Hansgrohe wanted some action and sent out Shane Archbold to catch the breakaway. 13 kilometers later, the New Zealander catched the breakaway, which now consisted of 6 riders.

After some hectic days, Stage 4 seemed to be a great opportunity for the sprinters. Trek Segafredo and Intermarché Wanty Gobert took charge in the peloton for their sprinters, Mads Pedersen and Alexander Kristoff.

Frederik Muff (Team Coloquick) won the intermediate sprints in Valle and Evje. Kamiel Bonneu (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise), Shane Archbold (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Andre Drege (Team Coop) took the remaining points.

Joel Nicolau (Caja Rural Seguros RGA) was in the breakaway to chase point for the K.O.M. classification. The Spaniard was clearly frustrated, when Andre Drege (Team Coop) and Lucas Eriksson (Riwal Cycling) beat him in the K.O.M. sprint at Klomra. 

Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl team took charge, when the peloton entered Kristiansand. Kamiel Bonneu (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise) was the only remaining riders in front, when the riders went into the final lap. He got caught short after, why Uno-X Pro Cycling moved to the front to setup an attack for Tobias Halland Johannessen. The Uno-X Pro Cycling rider made an attack on the final climb, but the pace wasn't high enough to drop the sprinters. Nathan Van Hooydonck (Team Jumbo-Visma) made an attack on the downhill section and managed to hold on until the final 500 meters.

In the final sprint, Marco Haller (Bora-Hansgrohe) took a chance an opened the sprint. The Austrian succeeded and won his first victory since Tour des Fjords 2015. Ethan Vernon (Quickstep Alpha Vinyl team) and Alexander Kristoff (Intermarché Wanty Gobert) take the last spots on the podium.