Ethan Hayter wins the second stage to Geilo!

Photo: Szymon Gruchalski

Ethan Hayter wins the second stage to Geilo!

Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) wins the second stage of Tour of Norway 2022 after a reduced sprint in Geilo.

The breakaway was quickly established by 4 riders, including Håkon Aalrust (Team Coop), Aaron van Poucke (Sport Vlaanderen - Baloise), Emil Vinjebo (Riwal Cycling) and Jeppe Pallesen (Team Coloquick).

Manuele Tarozzi (Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè) made a late attack to join the breakaway, but had to drop back to the peloton. 

The first intermediate sprint in Eidfjord was won by Emil Vinjebo (Riwal Cycling) in front of Håkon Aalrust (Team Coop) and Jeppe Pallesen (Team Coloquick). In the peloton, Ineos Grenadiers and Uno-X Pro Cycling took charge to control the gap to the breakaway.

With 84,5 km to go, the riders faced the longest climb in Tour of Norway 2022. At the bottom of the climb, the gap between the peloton and the breakaway was 5 minutes.

Most riders thought it would be a bunch sprint in Geilo, but Ineos Grenadiers wanted something else and set a high pace to drop the sprinters. Several sprinters, including the Norwegian favorite Alexander Kristoff, had to let go of the peloton. With 74 km to go, the breakaway was also caught by the dominating Ineos Grenadiers team. 

A reduced peloton reached the top at Dyranut, where Aaron van Poucke (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise) won the K.O.M. in front of Marco Brenner (Team DSM) and Embret Svestad-Bårdseng (Team Coop). Alexander Kristoff (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) found himself 3 minutes behind the front group. 

Ineos Grenadiers and Israel-Premier Tech controlled the pace in the front group at Hardangervidda. With less than 30 km to go, Ineos Grenadiers pushed the pace in the crosswind, why the former World Champion, Mads Pedersen, was dropped. 

At the second intermediate sprint at Haugastøl, Tobias Halland Johannessen (Uno-X Pro Cycling), who was second in the GC, managed to get one bonus second. In front of him was Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) and his team mate Anders Halland Johannesen (Uno-X Pro Cycling).

A main group of less than 30 riders reached the finish together, where Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) finished of Ineos Grenadiers dominating performace, and won the sprint in Geilo. Tobias Halland Johannesen (Uno-X Pro Cycling) was second and took the leader jersey. Mike Teunissen (Jumbo-Visma) was third.